A select group of 15 exceptional educational leaders were invited to serve on NASSP’s 2018 National Principals Conference Planning Panel. Bringing talent, insight, and experience from across the country, this group was formed to play an active role advising NASSP throughout the planning process.

Dwight Carter
Mr. Carter is the principal of New Albany High School in New Albany, OH. He has been an educator for 23 years and has received numerous accolades: 2010 Jostens Renaissance Educator Hall of Fame inductee; 2013 NASSP Digital Principal of the Year; 2014 Academy of Education Arts and Science Secondary Principal of the Year; and 2015 Ohio Alliance of Black School Educators Principal of the Year.

Tom Dodd
Dr. Dodd is the principal of Lesher Middle School, Fort Collins, CO, in the Poudre School District. He is a regular presenter at state and national conferences, and under his leadership, his school was named a MetLife Foundation-NASSP Breakthrough School in 2012, and a School to Watch every year since 2014, by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform.

Darren Ellwein
Mr. Ellwein is a 2017 NASSP Digital Principal of the Year. He is also the proud principal of Harrisburg Middle School in Harrisburg, SD. Mr. Ellwein has been a principal for eight years, and he has made technology a focus of his career. In addition to implementing social media programs, he has used collaborative tools such as Google Docs and Google Hangouts, created technology-based clubs, and instituted Twitter Tuesdays and a Genius Hour every Wednesday.

Sheila Evans
Mrs. Evans served as a middle school teacher, middle school assistant principal, director of curriculum and instruction, elementary school principal, and high school principal before her current role as the principal of White Oak Elementary School in Edenton, NC. She was selected as Chowan Middle School’s Teacher of the Year in 1994, and as Principal of the Year for Chowan County in 2005, 2011, and 2013.

Trevor Greene
Mr. Greene was the 2012 Washington State High School Principal of the Year, and in 2013, he was named National Principal of the Year by NASSP. Mr. Greene then fulfilled a one-year fellowship, working with K–12 principals statewide, as a Principal Professional Development Specialist for the Association of Washington School Principals, in conjunction with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Currently, he is the executive director of the Highline School District in Seattle, WA—a large district spanning five urban municipalities where more than 100 languages are spoken.

Michael Pflugrath
Mr. Pflugrath is an assistant principal at South County High School in Lorton, VA, which serves more than 2,200 students in grades 9–12. Formerly a social studies teacher, Mr. Pflugrath now leads the school literacy team by providing targeted professional development to teachers with strategies for reading, writing, and student engagement. He also developed the student learning center, created the aspiring administrator cohort, and implemented the military connected youth program.

JoVon Rogers
Ms. Rogers is the principal of Gunston Elementary School in Fairfax County Public Schools. Gunston, located in Lorton, VA, is a diverse K–6 with approximately 550 students who speak more than 34 languages. Ms. Rogers began her education career in 1995 in the classroom, teaching third, fourth, and fifth grade. She then worked as an instructional coach, extended school year principal, and assistant principal before being named principal.

Amber Schroering
In August 2007, Mrs. Schroering joined the East Middle School team in Brownsburg, IN as an assistant principal. Previously, she was the director of the Noblesville High School Pacesetter Alternative School. Before moving into administration, she taught science at Noblesville Middle School, Southridge High School, and Fairfield JR./SR. High School.

Eric Worcester
Mr. Worcester is the founding and current principal of The Nokesville School in Nokesville, VA. It is the only public K–8 school in Prince William County Schools (PWCS). He previously served as the principal of Nokesville Elementary School and as the assistant principal at two Title I schools in PWCS, Fitzgerald Elementary School and Dale City Elementary School. Before entering administration, Mr. Worcester worked as an instructional technology coach and special education teacher at the elementary and middle school levels.

William Ziegler
Dr. Ziegler was the 2016 Pennsylvania Principal of the Year and a 2015 NASSP Digital Principal of the Year. He served on the team that rewrote the Breaking Ranks framework for school leaders and he was a member of a 2015 delegation of principals who traveled to China to conduct a series of NASSP Great Leaders Summits with local school leaders. He is currently the principal of Pottsgrove High School in Pottstown, PA.